Racism in America…the never ending story

Posted: July 23, 2010 in Christianity, Current Events
Tags: , , , , ,

I was brought up in a racist home.  Taught that all blacks were worthless, they never trust the white man, etc., one could surmise that I heard the word “nigger” alot.  This sort of thinking I admit with much regret entered and took control of my mind.  Feeling pissed off at someone on the basis of race left me feeling angry all the time.

As time went on this anger turned to hatred and as one civil rights leader said in a documentary…”hatred can consume you.”  And it did.

A person asked me one time, “what has your hatred gotten you?”  As time went on I had to seriously consider this question.  I hated people I never knew and would never know.  While I was preaching that I was a christian that same person said that racist people don’t make it to the kingdom of God.

Maybe this is true.  Afterall, the basic principle of Christ – the top command of all – is to love one another.  The word of God tells us that when we hate in our hearts we have already committed murder.  I am what you would call a recovering racist.  The very realization that my hatred for others never would solve anything, and the fact that if given chance to call a black person a “nigger”, solidified my belief that racism is a cowards tool for segregation.  Only a handful of people have the courage to stand up and say they hate.

Coupled with the fact that I am now a father, I knew I had to abandon my former leanings.  How could I teach my son of the love of Christ and the lie of racism?  It is a house divided against itself.

What if the civil rights movement never happened because there was no need for it to?  What if the christians of the day lived up to the commands of Christ?  The Civil Rights Act of 1964 went above and beyond the call to make sure that All people are created equal. 

Despite the deep divides of our race, political and spiritual beliefs, even the differences in prosperity; maybe America should look within its own heart and doesn’t use racism as a means of political gain.

For in the final analysis, we all inhabit this small planet, we all breath the same air, we all cherish our children’s futures, and we are all mortal.  John F. Kennedy

Leave a Reply

