Pessimism vs. Optimism

Posted: June 8, 2010 in Random, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Family, close friends (if there were that many), and associates say that I have a pessimistic attitude.  I am not disputing this fact.  Although I am not proud to be called a pessimist or be labeled as one, it is an inherited part of my nature.  I don’t look at life as evil, or something that should be despised.  It God through life that brought me my son.  Rather, I don’t get all “keyed up” over some things like my wife does. 

That’s me in a nutshell.  I don’t look for everything to go wrong, I’m just not let down when it does.

Bobby Knight looked for the wrong things that could go wrong.  So much as in practices he would teach his players of the wrong things to do.  His reason: if you don’t teach them, they won’t know not to do them.

My wife is an optimist.  We clash.  She is so much of an optimist that when something goes wrong, she is let down – hard.  Pure optimist’s operate on an illusion.  They do something, they get their hopes up, it doesn’t go according to plan and they are devastated.

I am the kind of guy that looks at a glass as half empty.  The more you drink, the less you have.

Comments
  1. Nate says:

    It’s all about perspective, buddy. If you step back from virtually any situation, it begins to look less and less like the end of the world and more like a little bump on the long road of life. I’m with your wife, optimistic people live longer 🙂

Leave a Reply

