Killin’ can’t be easy…

Posted: May 30, 2010 in Current Events, News, Politics
Tags: , , , , ,

Movies, video games, television, even music flood our minds with the thought that killing is easy – maybe second nature.  We’re even led to believe that sometimes it is killed or be killed, thusly, we shouldn’t have any guilt.  But is that true?

On a production set an actor squeezes a trigger and a technician off to the side pushes a button and small expl0sions worn in the recipients clothing burst giving the illusion that his life is being extinguished.  But what you never see is the aftermath of what happens to the shooter, even if he is a good guy.

James Lenihan fought in WWII Europe and wrote a poem about the first time he killed a man.  It was long-lost until his two children found it.  It reads:

I shot a man yesterday

And much to my surprise,

The strangest thing happened to me

I began to cry.

I knelt beside him

And held his hand —

I begged his forgiveness

Did he understand?

It was the War

And he was the enemy

If I hadn’t shot him

He would have shot me.

I shot a man yesterday

And much to surprise

A part of me died with Him

When Death came to close His eyes.

War tears apart the soul, it tears apart the world, and even though war cannot be avoided at all times, those who choose to be apart of the military and taking the chance to kill, need to understand that it is not as easy as one, two, three.  I have never killed so I don’t know what it feels like, and so, I cannot sit here and type that I would go and do this and that without actually doing it.

Couch warriors are lead by the likes of Sean Hannity, Glenn Beck, and Bill O’Reilly into the belief that they would kill someone in war.  But would they?  Afterall, none of them have a history in the military, and despite Hannity’s support of waterboarding, or “intense interrogation”, he still has not taken Keith Olbermann’s offer to be waterboarded himself for the reward of $1,000 to be donated to soldiers families.

Killin’ can’t be eas, and those who say we should stay in Iraq, Afghanistan, and we should nuke Iran and North Korea, I say go right ahead.  Blow men’s brains out like on television and games, drop nukes on the unsuspecting innocent all in the name of teaching those belligerents a lesson.  We’ll see how your conscience fairs.

Leave a Reply

