White people are evil and the liberal myth!

Posted: May 5, 2010 in News, Politics
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Christian Lander is a white guy.  In fact, to be more precise, he is a Canadian-American white guy, and he is ashamed of it.  Now when I say that he is ashamed of it, I am not saying the Mr. Lander wishes he were black or some other minority color, no, just like any other liberal who likes to live in the past, Christian Lander is guilt ridden from the actions in the past of the white majority.

Now like I have said in the past, I am not racist: slavery was wrong and white people fought for the freedom for blacks.  Prohibiting the rights of women and peoples of other color the right to vote was wrong, and everything else to do with social injustice was wrong.  But in todays world where women have the right to vote, hold office, and run for President of the United States, minorities have affirmative action on their side.  And even with all of this, it is still not enough.

I’m not attempting to assert some sort of superiority through my whiteness; quite the opposite actually. Thanks to my liberal upbringing, I am imbued with the appropriate amount of guilt and shame about my ancestors and their actions in the New World.

Even in my home, I can’t offer a blanket to a nonwhite friend without the fear that they will look at me and say “no smallpox on this right?” A joke, but I still want to apologize.

I’m a white male. I belong to a group that pretty much always been able to own land and to vote. I’m more or less from the kind that grabbed power somewhere after the fall of Rome and never let go. In other words, I’m the kind of white guy that has never experienced any real oppression, writes Lander.

Okay, for starters, what in the hell does apologizing to someone who didn’t live through this, and what’s more, neither did you do in the first place?  You didn’t do this, did you?  If I were a person of color I would say, “seriously, dude, stop it, just shut up.  Lets live in today.”

The fact that liberals cannot seem to grasp that we live in the twenty-first century and the not the nineteenth or even the twentieth centuries goes right over their heads.  And as for buying homes and land, aren’t blacks doing that now?

But in addition to being white and having ancestors on the Mayflower, I’m also Canadian. Yes, I know that might actually make me more white than before, but it also technically makes me an immigrant to this country.

Still, I am loath to call myself an immigrant because I don’t want to demean the very real, very difficult challenges faced by immigrants to this country who have had to overcome differences in language, culture and distance from their families. I would say my biggest hardship has been trying to find Ketchup Chips.

But in the eyes of the U.S. government, I am an immigrant, the same as someone from China, Mexico or India. I would not be in this country had I not met my wife in graduate school, and I am thankful every day for her and the opportunity to live in the United States.

So when the census came around, I was absolutely thrilled. I’ve lived in the United States for eight years (four of them as a graduate student), and in that time, I have never been able to vote or access any public services. The census meant I was going to be counted, I was going to be a part of American history. A good part, not that blanket part.

I hate to tell you this, Christian, but you are still a native born Canadian, and thusly, still an immigrant, and thusly, still unable to run for the presidency.  Sorry.

Under the Constitution the original intent for the Census was to conduct a “head count” in order to properly redistrict Congress.

The reality is that America has a long history of welcoming immigrants who will never be able to check that white box on the census, and unfortunately that means America also has a long history of discrimination against those people regardless of their status in the country. Just one example would be the treatment of Japanese-Americans during World War II contrasted against the treatment of German-Americans.

But all of that was in the past right? Well, ask yourself this: Who is more likely to get pulled over and forced to show his papers in Arizona today? A first generation Canadian immigrant, or a 10th generation Mexican-American?

Regardless of what kind of liberal spin you want to put on this, the United States has immigration laws.  And as a law, we are obligated to impose those laws, no matter of color.  Just because we are the “land of the free” doesn’t mean people can come over here of their own free will undocumented.

What happened to the Japanese-Americans during WWII was disgraceful, and I am inclined to believe that the same will happen in the future, and it won’t be limited to immigrants.  But what is wrong with requiring an immigrant to carry their verification on them?

White people aren’t the only ones who are racist…

What Christian Lander fails to mention, either by intent or by accident, is that white people are not the only racist ones.  Just read this list of quotes:

“White folks was in caves while we was building empires… We taught philosophy and astrology and mathematics before Socrates and them Greek homos ever got around to it.” — Rev. Al Sharpton in a 1994 speech at Kean College, NJ, cited in “Democrats Do the Dumbest Things

Reverand?

“The white race is the cancer of human history.” — Susan Sontag

“There’s no great, white bigot; there’s just about 200 million little white bigots out there.” — USA Today columnist Julienne Malveaux

The white man is our mortal enemy, and we cannot accept him. I will fight to see that vicious beast go down into the lake of fire prepared for him from the beginning, that he never rise again to give any innocent black man, woman or child the hell that he has delighted in pouring on us for 400 years.” — Louis Farrakhan who campaigned for congresswoman Cynthia McKinney in 2002, City College audience in New York

“There are white n*ggers. I’ve seen a lot of white n*ggers in my time.” — Former Klansman and Current US Senator Robert Byrd, a man who is referred to by many Democrats as the “conscience of the Senate” in March of 2001

“Civil rights laws were not passed to protect the rights of white men and do not apply to them.” — Mary Frances Berry, Chairwoman, US Commission on Civil Rights

“I want to go up to the closest white person and say: ‘You can’t understand this, it’s a black thing’ and then slap him, just for my mental health.” — Charles Barron, a New York city councilman at a reparations rally, 2002

Leave a Reply

