The trust of a child…

Posted: January 6, 2010 in Christianity, Family
Tags: , , , , ,

Last night my son was constipated beyond words and it took every bit twenty minutes for my wife and I to help him poop.  He is eleven months old and in the ninetieth percentile on height and weight.  After waiting twenty minutes for my son – Kenneth – to evacuate his bals, needless to say he was tired.

So zipping him up in his sleeper; he and I fell asleep in the recliner for an hour and-a-half.  Upon waking I could hear his belly growling.  I grabbed a jar of baby food – plums – and because I felt lazy, I popped up the foot stool, sat him on my lap and fed him that way.  When saw the jar he looked at, looked at me, back at the jar, back at me, and he opened his mouth wide.

And I got to thinking about it: not only does my son rely on me for everything, but he trusts me.  He trusts me to feed him, to clothe him, and to bathe him.  This is a sort of trust that no matter what cannot be foresaken or betrayed.  When he looks at me he sees his rock, his pillar.  I am the center of his life.

But this should be the way our relationship is with God.  Too many times we get wrapped up in lifes struggles and worries that we forget about him.  We must not forget that Jesus says that he will never leave us or foresake us.  I must admit that I am guilty of this too.  I am only human.  But since I left my job the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit is all I’ve got.  No matter what happens I always seem to be provided for.

Just as today was for me, as humans, when it rains, it pours.  But we must remember that Jesus says in John 16: 33 that though we may have struggles and trials to take heart that HE has overcome this world.  He has overcome death, sin, and our burdens.  Romans asks “if God can be for me who can be against me?”

I give God the praise and glory for getting me this far.  And if he can be for us, who can be against us?

Leave a Reply

